Finally got my license... How should I kit out the 0.22 and 12 gauge?

I’ve finally been issued with my licence. Should arrive in the mail any day now.

The firearms are a Ruger American 0.22 and Adler B220 pistol grip.

I’m actually a bit of a newbie so looking for accessory ideas. You can probably tell by the firearms I’m not looking to spend a million bucks. Will be heading to a range as soon as they open just to get all the safety and marksmanship stuff bedded down before I go out of town to hunt rabbits cats and foxes (or soft drink bottles if there are none to be found).

So what should I be thinking about scope wise for the rifle and is there anything that’s handy to have on the shotgun?

5 Likes

Congrats!

The Ruger American is a great choice - I think there’s a few of us here to have one, myself included. Did you get the compact?

There a couple of good threads on scopes on 22s.

The last one was me annoying @juststarting about what to put on my Ruger. I went with a 3-9X40 Nikon in the end.

1 Like

In terms of accessories, ammo! Especially for the 22, see what it likes, will be different for 25m to 50m (22LR accuracy questions).

I found that B220 sights work fine. You can always get a cheap red dot, I tend to stick to Vortex Crossfire II. However, sights on B220 are pretty good. Also, found that B220 is not particularly picky about ammo. Some eject with a lot more excitement than others, but much of a muchness.

For Ruger, there are a few links above. However, some come with a rail, some don’t. In case yours didn’t - not all rings will fit the grove/dovetail on the gun. At least this is what I found. So if you don’t have the rail included, personally, I would get go to a shop, get them to find the right rings and then shop for the scope. Rings will dictate the tube diameter for the scope. If you have the rail, pick a scope, then find some cheap rings.

20018849_1_grande

It’s this one (I think! Haven’t seen it since I bought it in February!!)