Hunting stories, Pic's and Tips

I thought this would be a good place to share some of our hunting experiences. I have been shooting one way or another for a little over 30 years but I have to admit that I am very inexperienced when it comes to hunting, I grew up shooting with my dad but he was pretty much a vegetarian so we only ever really shot targets, tin cans and stuff.
Over the last few years I have become more interested in hunting, I’ve tried my hand at fox whistling with mixed results, I’ve shot stacks of bunny’s both walking with a shottie and sitting on warrens with a .22 or air rifle.

I’ve had one good trip away to hunt goats in a state forest (Wombat SF, yup there’s stacks of game in there… Not!) and I’m heading back there this weekend for another look around.

I’ve tried a couple of times, so far unsuccessfully to hunt deer, I’ve found good sign and fresh scat, but so far they have out smarted me.

Rabbits are easy enough to find, if calisi and mitso haven’t wiped them out in your area, same with foxes which seem to be every bloody where, at least around here and hunting them I think comes more down to learning the correct techniques. YouTube has been a great resource there.
For the goats and deer research seems to be the key to success, Google maps https://www.google.com.au/maps/ and for me here in Victoria the Forest Explorer Maps http://mapshare.maps.vic.gov.au/MapShareVic/index.html?viewer=MapShareVic.PublicSite&locale=en-AU have been a great guide to where I can hunt and the two maps used in conjunction give you a good insight into an area before needing to drive out there. I also get my Google-Fu on, searching for pest management plans and any other info I can find on a potential site or place near by it and so far its been a good plan.

Hopefully I’ll have some more goat in the freezer come monday.

Got some more tips, hunting stories or just some brag shots? post them up here for us all.