Ask the Shotgun Experts

This could easily be put in whats that gun. I have just recently acquired this old double barreled Side by Side, hammer shotgun. I am trying to find out a bit about it like year of manufacture and is it safe to use normal 12G shells and some info on the choke.
This is a picture of the proof marks on the barrel it is a Bayard.

Maybe a photo of the entire gun too, perhaps? :wink:

I will get one perhaps on Sunday. its all in pieces at the moment. I have striped what was left of the varnish on the butt and sanded out a lot of the scratches and am in the process of re oiling it.

I’m no expert, but I dont think it has been Nitro proofed.

Your gun is only proofed for black powder. It was made in Belgium in 1927 (the F under the star) and was proofed / passed by Couchant Louis (the M under star above the perron).

Bloody hell, @GUN-DMC it’s like you know stuff about shotguns or something.

I think he has a couple of books on that stuff. Either that or he’s a smart arse professor. :rofl:

Regarding the proof, it was proven with Black Powder, not neccesarily FOR Black Powder. Also the Perron means more than it is Belgian, but that it has been inspected after final Black Powder proof which all Belgian guns had to pass even if they were later to be proven with semi-smokeless. As it has the gauge over c in a diamond I would have the gun inspected prior to using nitro shells, and also check the cartridge length as it may well be chambered for 2 1/2" shells. Is there a mark of the number 12 dash 65 or 70 in what seems to be an oval on the barrel flats?

Not so smart, just got a book :wink:

So can a gun be proofed after the fact?

As in, if it doesn’t come with a nitro proof mark, is there a process to get it tested and proofed for nitro or do you just assume it doesn’t work?

I can be done in England, they reproof plenty of old guns there. Probably other countries too, we don’t have a proof house here, but then neither do a lot of countries.