Anyone have experience with .45 Long Colt

In my search for a new Winchester lever action,nI have happened across two at very reasonable prices.
A Winchester 73, 24inch occy barrel, blued.
A 20 inch model 92 blued
Both are in .45 LC however. I have no experience with this cartridge. Before I dive into the Google cesspool I was wondering if anyone has a firearm in this calibre. How does it perform compared to a .357mag?
Recoil etc.
The 73 is $1500 pick up
The 92 is $1250 shipped
Available as I write this but no idea how long they will be available.

I have a 44, which I guess is pretty close to 45LC.

And 357…

What specifically would you like to know, amigo?

I’d take a 73 over a 92 any day & I have a 92.
My brother had a 92 in 45lc, I shot it at the range, was mild to shoot though that could of been his reloads.
Another mate has a 73 in 38spec and it’s smooth as butter.

Performance against 357 is hard to describe for me. I don’t generally shoot either one (and never had actually, perhaps I should) for groups. Just blast clays (page out of your book, @supaduke) and random shit, in fact sometimes real shit lol (I wanted to see a cow patty explode, 357 explodes it). :slight_smile:

It’s really hard to explain. They both feel fine like you can plink all day with it. In fact a lovely young lady I know shot 100+ max load 44MAG cartridges with 240gr slugs off hand without hesitation. So in terms of recoil management and comfort they are both gentle enough, obviously 44 has more oomph, but from my Marlin, very manageable.

The biggest difference I would say is when you shoot 44 with proper loads, it just feels like there’s a bit of authority (like a big boys gun), the bang and the jump and thump on the other end. With 357 and max (in fact bit over max) loads using 158gr HRBC bullets, it’s less so, it feels a little amoebic to be honest.