The Show and Tell us post

We thought that we would start a thread on Show and Tell.
It doesn’t have to be gun related can be whatever you like but show us some pictures and tell us the story behind it.

It could be your first car, first gun, something that you found or brought, you get the picture…

So I will start this off :upside_down_face:

I had been shooting for a couple of years when I was talking to this old bloke at the pub one night and he was telling me all about reloading. Now being fairly new to most things (18 years old) I was fascinated with the whole idea of making my own ammo. He then tells me that he has a reloading press and some bits and pieces for sale if I was interested, Yes I was.

I then became the proud owner of my first press, powder thrower and scales all for the princely sum of $50. Doesn’t sound much but this was 35 years ago. It was already well used as he had had it for many years before hand and it came with dies for 303, 22 hornet and 243. As I didn’t have any of those rifles I gave the dies away.

The Press as I got it:

It is a bit dirty as it hasn’t been used for a lot of years but it is still setup with the dies for my 6.5 x 55 and has loaded it’s fair share. I guess that I would have used it for about 5 or 6 years before I upgraded pretty much all of my reloading gear.

For some reason, sentimental I guess, I have kept all of it though I have not used any of it since up grading.

6 Likes

Some of know i’m a bit of a knife guy, always wanted a Fairbairn sykes dagger, one came up recently and just received it in the post, it’s a post war manufacture made by J nowill and sons in Sheffield England, nothing to fancy and designed for one thing. The wartime examples are fetching crazy money ( roughly $1000 aud ) depending on condition manufacturer etc just like rifles.

7 Likes

http://www.ep.tc/problems/46/096.html Instructions for use written by Fairbairn.

1 Like

Ohhhh, very nice. Such a beautiful shape. Tad jealous

2 Likes