Question: issues with Carcano 6.5x52 FL die expander (undersized)

I am writing this as I yelled screw it and left second stuck case, stuck, in my Carcano 6.5x52 die. That said, I am an expert at stuck case removal by now, but, not at 10:30PM. Better things to do.

I wanted to make a couple of dummy/template cartridges for Carcano (6.5x52) and here’s where I hit some snags.

FL sized. Case was lubed inside and out. However, I felt a little more resistance that I think I should have felt on the way up (ram moving down).

I tried seating a bullet and the neck on FL size cases was too tight. I am using original milsurp carcano bullet, 0.268" diameter. Something was off.

All suspicions point to undersized expander, I don;t see any other possibilities with excessive neck tension other than undersized expander.

I can’t measure it right now, because I have a case stuck in the die, I will do that tomorrow. However, I strongly suspect that the expander in the 6.5x52 Carcano FL die is undersized.

Little bit of digging and I am almost certain that expander is designed for commercially available projectiles - 6.5. Not 0.268" which is about 6.81mm. That 0.31mm difference is huge when it comes to seating.

So I suspect that expander, some research got me here: https://leeprecision.com/2-die-set-6.5-carcano.html

Lee 6.5 Carcano Limited Production 2-Die Set includes a Full Length Sizing Die (for .264" bullets), Bullet Seating Die, Universal Shell Holder, Powder Dipper and Instructions/Load Data. The original .268" bullet supply is limited, and requires a custom oversize easy x expander.

Really, Lee! Really!?!?!? Selling dies for a rifle with an assumption that someone will be using wrong bullets? How about you assume someone will be using correct bullets! Bah! I could be wrong, but this is where I am right now.

Anyway, so I navigated to the custom expander page…
Link: https://leeprecision.com/custom-oversized-ez-x-expander.html