Potential business idea. Some questions.

Hi all,

Firstly, keep in mind I’m fairly new to all this shooting business so I may be away off with this and missing a heap of stuff.

A stock is mostly just a cradle to hold a barreled action and trigger mechanism. What it looks like it’s largely irrelevant assuming it can be held steady and comfortably.

The Norinco JW25A is really just a JW15 barreled action in a historically accurate stock.

So, with that in mind, could a company make and sell timber stocks that turn a certain barreled action into a replica historical firearm?

For example, you buy a JW15 and a new SMLE stock designed to fit it, throw the barreled action into to the stock and boom, you’ve got a 22lr SMLE replica. Obviously it’s not going to be a perfect replica, but it’s a cool looking 22.

I have no intention to do this, god knows it’s out of my league, but I’d be interested if it was done.

Thoughts?

You’ll find the smle stock ’ fit ’ actually is quite complex, bit of an old world skill not many people can do properly these days, the relation of wood to action and how it all interacts with the shooter is a bit of an art for accuracy, in my opinion

But give it a crack maybe go for another combo though, try making a modern carcano, those seem to just be a metal tube screwed to a log

So are you asking if it’s a legitimate business or if it’s sold? Legit - yes. Sold/made - nfi

All that matters is the inletting. You can make the stock look like an umbrella if you want. Assuming the Inletting is done correctly you can make the stock any shape you want, including Milsurps. America has a few , like M1 carbine stocks for 10/22 etc.
No reason it couldn’t be done.
Possibly cost prohibitive to.use actual walnut

Just wondering if there was any super obvious reason it couldn’t be done.

As far as I can find, it isn’t a thing currently available.

These guys apparently sell the timber bits of your SMLE, if you scroll to the bottom.