ADI Trail Boss Powder

First the boring bit… NO, I WILL NOT GIVE YOU LOAD DATA FOR YOUR RIFLE, I WILL ALSO TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR YOUR RELOADING AND OR THE CONSEQUENCES OF YOUR RELOADING BE THE GOOD OR LIFE ENDING!

I’ve Been loading ammo with Trail Boss for a few years now and I must say it is the most versatile powder on the market (at least in Australia), Its can basically be loaded into any centre fire round and even in very limited situations into shotgun shells.
I have loaded Trail Boss into 38 spec, 357 mag, .222, .303 brit, 7.7 jap, 6.5x55, 8mm mauser, .308 and probably some I can’t remember off the top of my head right now.
Trail Boss is an extremely bulky powder and generally is loaded by volume as apposed to by weight, by which I mean it is usually loaded somewhere between 70 - 100% of the free case volume. basically as long as its not compressed by a projectile (COMPRESSED LOADS OF TRAIL BOSS ARE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND WILL MOST CERTAINLY CAUSE PRESSURE SPIKES THAT MAY KILL YOU) you can fill the case and you will not create any pressure problems.
As far as I know it was created for western action shooters who were only requiring low pressure loads for shooting relatively large targets at close distances, but it has found use in the creation of subsonic hunting loads, milsurp plinking loads, handgun comp loads and although not recommended by ADI as a shotgun powder (due to shotshell’s generally being compressed by a wad) I have talked to a bloke who has been experimenting with loads of brass 12ga shells loaded with Trail Boss and full bore round ball slugs.

I love Trail Boss and I know some of you out there do too, I’d love to here what calibre’s you have loaded it into.

1 Like